Tuesday, April 2nd 2019

A Curse So Dark and Lonely

A Curse So Dark and LonelyA Curse So Dark and Lonely (A Curse So Dark and Lonely, #1) by Brigid Kemmerer
Published by Bloomsbury YA on January 29th 2019
Pages: 496
Goodreads
four-half-stars

An instant New York Times Best Seller! In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.
Fall in love, break the curse.

It once seemed so easy to Prince Rhen, the heir to Emberfall. Cursed by a powerful enchantress to repeat the autumn of his eighteenth year over and over, he knew he could be saved if a girl fell for him. But that was before he learned that at the end of each autumn, he would turn into a vicious beast hell-bent on destruction. That was before he destroyed his castle, his family, and every last shred of hope.

Nothing has ever been easy for Harper Lacy. With her father long gone, her mother dying, and her brother barely holding their family together while constantly underestimating her because of her cerebral palsy, she learned to be tough enough to survive. But when she tries to save someone else on the streets of Washington, DC, she's instead somehow sucked into Rhen's cursed world.


Break the curse, save the kingdom.

I really enjoyed this retelling. A lot of retellings are hit or miss for me. Either they are too much like the original or they are nothing like it and I don’t understand how it can be a retelling. This one has just enough of the original Beauty and the Beast elements. And it was a slow burn. And I love a slow burn.

This book is told in alternating chapters, which doesn’t always work for me. Most of the time I fall for one character over the other and I just want to get to their chapters, but that did not happen with this book. I was equally invested in all of the characters and I cannot wait to see where this story goes in the next installment.

The only thing I was not the biggest fan of was the time jump/world change. It did work for this story, so I can’t fault that, but it is just not my favorite thing in a fantasy book.

four-half-stars

Saturday, November 17th 2018

Batch Reviews

I am behind in my book reviews and now it’s been a while since I have read some of them. Here are my quick thoughts and ratings. 

The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina: 3/5 stars. Meh, this is more like 2.5 rating for me. I read all eight comics. They were okay. Honestly, I like the show better. 

History is All You Left Me: 5/5 stars. Adam Silvera breaks my damn heart again. Jerk.

The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You: 4/5 stars. Just want I wanted. Enemies to lovers. A favorite trope. 

The Nowhere Girls: 4/5 stars. This was heartbreaking and intense. And all too familiar. 

The Wicked Deep: 4/5 stars. Beautifully atmospheric. 

The Perfect Mother: 4/5 stars. Creepy and a pretty good “who done it.” 

Meaty: 4/5 stars. I will read/listen to anything Samantha Irby puts out into the universe. 

Anger is a Gift: 5/5 stars. Very timely. A must-read for everyone. 

My Plain Jane: 4/5 stars. Not quite as good as My Lady Jane, but pretty close. Can’t wait for the third book. 

Tuesday, January 16th 2018

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1) by Victoria Schwab
Published by Greenwillow Books on July 5th 2016
Pages: 464
Goodreads

four-stars




There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

So the weird thing about this book is that I liked it. I did. I rated it 4 stars. I liked the plot, the characters, the action and the pacing. The weird thing, I don’t feel compelled to read the second book. I started to read the first few chapters and…I just don’t know. I feel like the first book could stand on its own even with a slight cliffhanger ending. I am going to give it another try sometime this month. But back to this book.

There are two main characters the perspective shifts with each chapter. Again, I am normally not a fan of this as I usually end up like one character over the other. But again, I found myself engaged and enjoying both characters. The plot is also very original and intriguing. My only beef with the plot is that I would have liked more history on the phenomenon. The pacing really worked in this book. And when the action really picked up I could not put the book down. If the plot sounds interesting to you and you like a little sci-fi/fantasy, I say pick it up.

four-stars

Friday, December 29th 2017

Spellbook of the Lost and Found

Spellbook of the Lost and FoundSpellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle
Published by RHCP Digital on June 1st 2017
Pages: 416
Goodreads

four-stars




One stormy summer night, Olive and her best friend, Rose, begin to lose things. It starts with simple items like hair clips and jewellery, but soon it’s clear that Rose has lost something bigger; something she won’t talk about.
Then Olive meets three wild, mysterious strangers: Ivy, Hazel and Rowan. Like Rose, they’re mourning losses - and holding tight to secrets.
When they discover the ancient spellbook, full of hand-inked charms to conjure back lost things, they realise it might be their chance to set everything right. Unless it’s leading them towards secrets that were never meant to be found . . .

I really enjoyed this book. It had great LGBT+ representation and I loved the magical elements. However, this book did suffer from the same thing Wild Beauty did in my opinion. The story just a got a bit too…convoluted. The writing was brilliant and I loved the characters, but like with Wild Beauty, I felt like the author got a little lost towards the end. Like they couldn’t make up their mind on which direction to take it, so it became muddled in the end. I have not read The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle but I plan on picking it up soon.

four-stars

Thursday, December 28th 2017

Wild Beauty

Wild BeautyWild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore
Published by Feiwel & Friends on October 3rd 2017
Pages: 352
Goodreads

four-stars




Love grows such strange things.
For nearly a century, the Nomeolvides women have tended the grounds of La Pradera, the lush estate gardens that enchant guests from around the world. They’ve also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But then, after generations of vanishings, a strange boy appears in the gardens.
The boy is a mystery to Estrella, the Nomeolvides girl who finds him, and to her family, but he’s even more a mystery to himself; he knows nothing more about who he is or where he came from than his first name. As Estrella tries to help Fel piece together his unknown past, La Pradera leads them to secrets as dangerous as they are magical in this stunning exploration of love, loss, and family.

The writing in this book was quite beautiful and I would like to read more books by this author as this is my first. I felt very invested in the characters and the plot. The only reason this book did not get a 5-star rating from me is that I thought the story got just a little convoluted in the end. But otherwise, it was a beautiful story.

four-stars

instagram

follow along @christinavanp