Monday, September 18th 2017

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and VirtueThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on June 27th 2017
Pages: 513
Goodreads
five-stars

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.
But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.
Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

This slow burn almost did me in. It was so good and so angsty. My only disappointment was that I didn’t get a raunchy scene in the end. But I will survive. This book reminded me of another one of my favorites, My Lady Jane but with more debauchery. I found this book to be quite hilarious and laughed out loud several times as well as groaned at the angst. I loved it. It is a wonderful historical romantic comedy.

five-stars

Thursday, August 17th 2017

Heartless

HeartlessHeartless by Marissa Meyer
Published by Feiwel & Friends on November 8th 2016
Pages: 453
Goodreads
four-stars

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.
At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.
Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

This book broke my heart. I knew it would and I read it anyways. Marissa Meyer is my new favorite fairy tale retelling author. I never would have thought up this back story for the Queen of Hearts and yet, her story completely works. And it was completely heartbreaking. I loved all the characters, the whimsy, the plot and the kookiness. The only reason I did not give this a 5 star rating was because I saw the ending coming. The foreshadowing was just a little too obvious for what I typically like, but that is my only nitpick. If you loved Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles, you will love this book as well.

four-stars

Friday, June 9th 2017

Sleeping Giants

Sleeping GiantsSleeping Giants (Themis Files, #1) by Sylvain Neuvel
Published by Del Rey on April 26th 2016
Pages: 304
Goodreads
five-stars

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?
An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

I don’t know why I have been dreading writing this review. I loved this book. LOVED it. I think I know that what I write here will not do it justice.

This is one of those science fiction novels that you can enjoy even if science fiction is not your thing. I felt the same way about The Host by Stephanie Meyer and The Martian by Andy Weir. I did listen to the book from Audible. It has a full cast for the narration and it’s brilliant. The book is written as a series of interviews between one man and everyone else involved in the discovery and the project.

It’s brilliant. Even if science fiction is not your thing, please give this book a try. Sleeping Giants (The Themis Files)

five-stars

Tuesday, May 30th 2017

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts 1 & 2

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Parts 1 & 2Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8) by John Tiffany, Jack Thorne, J.K. Rowling
on July 31st 2016
Pages: 343
Goodreads
four-stars

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Originally I had absolutely no intention of reading this book. None. Even though I really missed the Harry Potter world, I was convinced by other book reviewers and booktubers that this book was awful and not canon. And while I may agree that this book was not the best Harry Potter book, it could have been worse.

I did really enjoy seeing Harry, Hermoine, and Ron all grown up with children of their own. And I enjoyed the fact that the story revolves around Harry’s son, Albus and Snape’s son, Scorpius. I would be totally lying if I didn’t admit that I totally ship them. As someone who was mildly obsessed with the LiveJournal HP Secrets or.hdcomic (if you know what I am referring to, we are now best friends), I shipped them hard. If Harry and Draco weren’t together, then damnit, their sons should be together. But I digress (shoves all the fangirl feels way deep down inside).

Reading this book was different, as it’s written in script/play format. There were a few lines that made me groan, but overall I thought it was done very well. It made me laugh and it made me teary. And after reading this book I immediately wanted to re-read the entire series. And get my hands on the Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets The Illustrated Edition as I still do not own it.

I think that if you really liked the Harry Potter series and are willing to go into this book with an open mind, you will enjoy it. You might have to push your idyllic version of what happened to them years later out of your mind for a bit, but I think it’s completely worth it. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2, Special Rehearsal Edition Script

four-stars

Thursday, April 27th 2017

Horrorstör

HorrorstörHorrorstör by Grady Hendrix, Michael Rogalski
Published by Quirk on January 1st 1970
Pages: 248
Goodreads
three-stars

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.
To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.
A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom.
Designed by Andie Reid, cover photography by Christine Ferrara

This was the first time in a long time that I gave into the hype of a book. Several booktubers I follow and respect and who have the same tastes as me highly recommended this book. It was labeled as spooky, hilarious and weird. And while I did like this book, I did not love this book. Sadly, it did not live up to the hype for me. It just wasn’t as spooky, hilarious or weird as I wanted it to me. For me, it slightly missed the mark on all three counts. Also, I didn’t really care about any of the characters in this book. Even the main character fell flat for me.

What I did love about this book, was the concept. I really did like the idea of a kooky horror story happening within a department store very much like Ikea. But I do feel that the author could have taken the concept much further.

I do own a copy of My Best Friend’s Exorcism by the same author and I hope I like that book much more. Horrorstor: A Novel

three-stars

instagram

follow along @christinavanp